On a regular basis, we recommend cleaning up your GLM/SLM site to help you stay focused on the items that require action. Depending upon your workflows and request volume, try running through the cleanup checklist below on an annual basis or at the end of each cycle.
- Abandon draft requests.
- If requests are still located in the LOI Draft or Application Draft workload pages after the process is closed or the form deadline has passed, best practice is to abandon those requests if they will not be moving forward. This keeps the requests in the system, but removes them from the dashboard.
- Close approved requests.
- Once all necessary actions have been taken on an approved request (e.g. all payments have been recorded, all follow ups are completed, etc.), the final step is to close the request. This keeps the request in the system, but removes it from the dashboard. Refer to this article for more details: Close Requests
- Toggle off processes that are no longer accepting requests.
- Toggling off a process removes it from the Apply page. Refer to this article for more details: Process Toggled On vs. Off
- Archive processes no longer in use.
- Archiving a process moves it to the Archived drop-down on the Process Manager page, allowing you to keep your main Available process list clean and focused. Refer to this article for more details: Archived vs. Active Processes
- Merge duplicate organizations.
- In many cases, duplicate organizations are created accidentally if an applicant doesn't realize someone else at their organization has already created an account in your site. Merging organizations in this scenario allows you to group all request history for that organization in one location. Refer to this article for more details: Merge Duplicate Organizations
- In some cases, you might leave more than one organization in your site with the same tax ID. For example, different departments at the same university, or a large organization with multiple locations which typically submit separate requests. Contact the Client Success Team if you have questions about whether or not to merge organizations.
- Deactivate any internal users (e.g. administrators, grants managers, evaluators, etc.) who no longer need access to your site.
- Until you deactivate a user, they can continue to log into your GLM/SLM site. It's recommended that you take this action as soon as an internal user no longer needs access. Double-checking your list of active internal users on a regular basis is also a good idea to make sure it's up-to-date. Refer to this article for more details: Deactivating a User
- Review your email templates, merge templates, saved reports and data sets, and shared documents.
- Consider deleting any items that are no longer in use and will not be used in the future.
- Email templates can also be archived if you think you might use the template later.